coming back to life.

IMG_9059

Last week was a rough time. Between assignments, constant rain and stress-induced arguments – because somehow, every single person I know was stressed – I was worn out. So I decided, this week would be different.

I finished my assignments, the sun came out (hallelujah!), and I replaced stress and anger with taking the time to breathe and appreciate those around me. I decided that this week, I was going to focus on bringing myself back to life.

Here’s what that looked like for me. I found that pausing to take photos of some of the beautiful things that I created for myself was a good way to affirm those moments. These are still photos from my phone, but this year a little birdie told me I might get a proper camera for my birthday! So I’m looking forward to learning how to make better photographs. I’m reading this book to prepare.

On Monday, the sun was shining and I realised that sometime during the last week, the leaves had turned.

FullSizeRender-5

My Mum and Dad came to the city to do some shopping, and Mum and I spent the time on our favourite thing to do in big department stores – trying out all the perfumes.

IMG_8981On Tuesday, I was home sick.

IMG_8999

IMG_9008

On Wednesday,  I cooked for my family. I didn’t realise until I was in the flow of it, mixing up spices with jazz on the radio and the stir fry sizzling on the stove, with a gin and tonic and a cooling cake on the counters beside me, how much I’d missed this.

IMG_9041 IMG_9043

I made up a letter to send to a friend far from home, including a few silly Polaroids:

IMG_9003

On Thursday, I went out with my boy for a special date. I introduced him to my favourite cake shop (it’s open until 9pm and serves chunks of fresh cake by weight, plus they are liberal with their free samples!). Outside was this gorgeous little guy. Couldn’t resist stopping to talk.

IMG_9054

On Friday, I tidied my entire wardrobe out: sorting bags into nice ones to give gifts in, big ones to use for bin liners, small ones to use for storage… Then I took a long hot shower and studied. Quiet bliss.

IMG_9068

Somehow, it’s still sunny. I am loving these days and the feelings of accomplishment as I finish up different parts of the semester. I’ll be back here soon.

Love,

Dora

One thought on “coming back to life.

Leave a Reply

